Way clear for official SECWA split

Friday, 16 December 1994

16/12/94

All processes are now in place for the official split of SECWA on January 1, with Energy Minister Colin Barnett today announcing new Western Power and AlintaGas boards.

Mr Barnett said that each of the new corporate entities would have a sixmember board represented by leading businessmen and women.

The existing SECWA board sat for the last time this week. Mr Barnett said four existing SECWA board members would continue positions with the new boards and three other members who had been a part of the Energy Implementation Group - established to oversee the SECWA restructure - were also appointed.

Mr Barnett also highlighted that the formal restructuring process had been dealt with within a year, with all legislation being in place, new corporate images launched and administrative changes well underway.

The AlintaGas board will be chaired by Ian Baker former chairman of the Energy Implementation Group, and the Western Power Board will be chaired by existing SECWA board member Malcolm MacPherson.

The new **AlintaGas** board members include:

John Shawley - chairman, National Pipeline Authority, director, Victorian power authority PowerNet Victoria and former BP Australia executive;

Jenny Fear - managing director of Poynton Corporate Limited, director of Hartley Poynton Limited and former State manager of Wardley Australia;

Dwane Buckland - SECWA board member and corporate consultant/director and former managing director of Metro Industries Limited;

Professor H Y Izan - head of Department of Accounting and Finance, University of WA (Australia's first woman to be appointed Professor in accounting and finance in 1990); and -

Stuart Hohnen - resource industry management consultant and member of the Energy Implementation Committee, appointed to oversee the implementation of the SECWA restructure. Mr Hohnen also served as managing director at Cockburn Corporation and as a member of the Energy Board of Review (Carnegie Report).

Western Power board members are:

Barry Flanagan - SECWA board member and former general manager of the Electricity Commission of NSW;



Colin Barnett

-

Carol Devitt - small business representative, Rhodes Scholar and former business management and accountancy tutor at University of WA;

Dan Smetana - executive chairman of Perth-based Joyce Corporation;

lan Warner - Energy Implementation Group member and senior legal advisor, Jackson McDonald; and -

Hector Stebbins - SECWA board member, economist and former State Manager of Reserve Bank, WA and Victoria.

"Each board, and the two new energy businesses as a whole, will face challenging and exciting times ahead through this period of change and new competition," Mr Barnett said.

Media contact: Carolyn Vicars - 222 9699